Birthday day! :)

So honestly I had an amazing day! It was definitely hard to be away from home and I did have a few moments of homesickness though.
I stayed up until midnight at which point my roommate, Megan tackled me in a hug. Then I opened all of the cards I got from my family 🙂 (hey, midnight marked the start of my birthday) I’m honestly so glad they sent them (thank you guys I love you). The first time I read them I was okay it was super sweet and some funny.
Then when I got up in the morning I figured from the shape (see pictures) that it was jewelry. So I wanted I wear it during the day so I opened it. It was a gorgeous bracelet (again see picture) so I put that on. Then I reread my cards – that was a mistake for some reason I honestly just started crying. It wasn’t like full out more just a few tears. Mainly because the cards were in a box with my books. So that meant my family thought this through and about me before I even left for lux. At that moment I really just wanted to hug them :(.
After that tiny little break down I headed to school. I got myself a pastry for breakfast as a little treat (it was delicious). Then pretty much when through my day. After lunch I found out that my French teacher simply didn’t show up for his class. After some sleuthing I found out he had called out sick and no one felt the need to let us know. So my school day was done and I decided to head into the city with a friend. I went to H&M and bought a sweater and a scarf (both super cute). Then I bought myself a birthday gift – a longchamp bag. Honestly it’s a more expensive purse but my rationalization is that it’s an investment. It’s durable, useable for everything, gorgeous, and it makes me happy. Plus it is also significantly less expensive than in the states. So I bought it (see picture – ya cute right?)
After that we headed back home and I did some homework. Dinner a lot of people were busy and we actually ended up being invited to dinner by the host mom that did dinner for the Esch kids. So we went to that it was Jackie, Connor, Alan, Norby, Megan and the host parents. Before dinner Jackie’s host mom handed me a gift it was a gorgeous scarf – it’s super soft and beautiful. Then Norby brought me a bottle of wine, a luxair lanyard and like a little lux keychain (you know the little animal from Madagascar the tiny thing with big eyes? Ya looks just like that). I was so touched. Not even sure how they knew it was my birthday but it was soo sweet. Then, we had a delicious dinner (mom, I love you I do but this dinner will compare to nothing else). It was amazing in every way and we were all stuffed. We were all sitting around talking when she brought out a cake with like a sparkler on it. I was so red and just shocked because it was incredibly sweet and special. The cake was deliciously amazing and I ate far to much. We hung out drinking our digestif for a tiny bit before catching the bus to head home.

Tomorrow the group of girls and I are going to dinner at an Italian place and then we are meeting a ton of people at a bar. It’s close to the bus and train and it’s very relaxed. I will probably have a drink and just hangout with everyone.

So while yes, I am still a tiny bit homesick I’m really glad I have the friends that I do surrounding me. ❤

20130918-100856.jpg

20130918-100932.jpg

20130918-100939.jpg

20130918-100944.jpg

20130918-100949.jpg

20130918-153022.jpg

Leave a comment